Artists in Residence at VIS 2013

With animation artist Momoko Seto and curator Alexei Dmietriev, VIS is proud to welcome two both unique and busy artists in residence in Vienna this year. Seto has gained attention with her experimental animations "PLANET A" and "PLANET Z", while Dmietriev has been successful with "Dubus", a slow dance from classic cinema to the music of Zelany Rashoho. Renowned artists as well as good friends, Seto and Dmitriev will definitely make the most of their time in Vienna and inspire everyone involved at VIS.

Momoko Seto

With her hybrid and interdisciplinary works, Japanese artist and film maker Momoko Seto (*1980) has made an excellent name for herself during the course of just a few years. She has been invited to the most renowned film festivals, including Locarno and Rotterdam, to present her experimental animations Planet A and Planet Z, in which she transferred everyday objects into a poetic universe, and won numerous awards. She studied in Marseille and San Francisco, a scholarship additionally took her to the major French educational establishment Le Fresnoy. Today Momoko Seto works in Paris and Tokio, but will make her new film during her residency in Vienna. In addition the artist will also be represented with an exhibition at the ASIFAkeil in the MuseumsQuartier from 8 May ? and her extravagant Seafood-Porn series will make several appearances in the ?VIS Midnight Movies?.

Momoko Seto: PORN - LIKE - SEAFOOD
Exhibition at ASIFAkeil
MQ MuseumsQuartier, quartier21 (electric avenue)
09.05.2013 - 02.06.2013
Daily from 10 am to 10 pm
Free admission

Screening "Planet A" und "Planet Z" by Momoko Seto
"Poolside Lesson: Summer Shorts" at the MQ SummerOpening
08.05.2013, 18.15, 19.30, 20.45

Alexei Dmitriev

Russian film maker, video artist and curator Alexei Dmitriev (*1986) is maybe one of the busiest figures in the international circus of film festivals. His films were screened at over 300 festivals, including Tribeca and Tampere, and his works have been presented at numerous exhibitions, for example at the transmediale or in Los Angeles. As a curator he presents programmes the world over, including a music-video programme for VIS a few years ago as a joint organiser of the Museek Festival. Dmitriev lives and works in St. Petersburg, but will certainly leave his mark in Vienna during his residency.

His sensual rhythm-study Dubus will be shown in the ?10 Years of VIS? programme, he will film a short documentary about the festival and be part of the jury for the music video prize ? finally, the cat lover will also make a fundamental contribution to the Vienna Cat Video Festival! AND on one night, he and Serbian journalist Vladan Petkovic will entertain fellow filmmakers and industry guests talking nonsense on stage, being rude to strangers, embarrassing themselves in front of the ladies, playing YouTube videos and, of course, drinking excessively (quote Dmitriev).

Dubus: A slow dance from classic cinema to the music of Zelany Rashoho. The work appropriates and re-edits clips from the Golden Age of Hollywood such as Sun Valley Serenade, Casablanca, Some Like It Hot, On the Waterfront & Citizen Kane. The footage is re-timed in order to complement the new music made by Zelany Rashoho which is a mixture of jazz, electronics and dub.

Information

The Artist-in-Residence program at quartier21 fosters international, project-related exchange and is financed with the aid of private sponsors. Each year, the program is able to invite about 40 artists from other countries to realize joint projects with the resident cultural initiatives on location, consequently promoting the establishment of international networks.

More information

Artists in Residence bei VIS 2013

Mit der japanisch stämmigen und in Paris arbeitenden Animationskünstlerin Momoko Seto und dem russischen Footagebastler und Kurator Alexei Dmietriev sind im Jubiläumsjahr zwei umtriebige und eigenwillige Köpfe zu Gast in Wien. Seto machte in den vergangenen Jahren mit ihren surreal verfremdeten Wachstums- und Verwesungsfilmen ?Planet A? und ?Planet Z? international von sich reden, Dmitriev erlangte mit seiner lustvollen Rhythmusstudie ?Dubus? große Bekanntheit. Mittlerweile auch gut miteinander befreundet, wird der überlappende Aufenthalt der beiden jungen Artists mit Sicherheit befruchtend sein.

Momoko Seto

Die japanische Künstlerin und Filmemacherin Momoko Seto (*1980) hat sich mit ihren hybriden und genreübergreifenden Arbeiten in wenigen Jahren einen hervorragenden Namen gemacht. Mit ihren experimentellen Animationsfilmen Planet A und Planet Z, in denen sie Alltagsobjekte in ein poetisches Universum überträgt, war sie bei den renommiertesten Filmfestivals zu Gast, u.a. in Locarno und Rotterdam, und wurde vielfach ausgezeichnet. Ihre Ausbildung genoss sie u.a. in Marseille und San Francisco, als Stipendiatin kam sie auch an die wichtige französische Ausbildungsstätte Le Fresnoy. Heute lebt und arbeitet Momoko Seto in Paris und Tokio, ihren neuen Film wird sie jedoch während der Residency in Wien herstellen. Zudem gastiert die Künstlerin ab 8. Mai mit einer Ausstellung im ASIFAkeil im MuseumsQuartier ? und ihre extravagante Seafood-Porn-Serie taucht auch mehrfach in den VIS-?Midnight Movies? auf.

Momoko Seto: PORN - LIKE - SEAFOOD
Ausstellung im ASIFAkeil
MQ MuseumsQuartier, quartier21 (electric avenue)
Eröffnung: 08.05.2013, 17:30 Uhr
Laufzeit: 09.05.2013 - 02.06.2013
Täglich durchgehend von 10:00 bis 22:00
Eintritt frei

Screening "Planet A" und "Planet Z" von Momoko Seto
"Poolside Lesson: Summer Shorts" im Rahmen der MQ SommerÖffnung
08.05.2013, 18.15h, 19.30h, 20.45h

Alexei Dmitriev

Der russische Filmemacher, Videokünstler und Kurator Alexei Dmitriev (*1986) ist vielleicht eine der umtriebigsten Figuren im internationalen Filmfestivalzirkus. Seine Filme wurden bei mehr als 300 Festivals gezeigt, darunter Tribeca und Tampere, und seine Werke mehrfach in Ausstellungen präsentiert, etwa bei der transmediale oder in Los Angeles. Als Kurator präsentierte er Programme weltweit, als Mitveranstalter des Museek-Festivals vor einigen Jahren auch ein Musikvideo-Programm bei VIS. Dmitriev lebt und arbeitet in St. Petersburg, wird aber während seiner Residency sicher Spuren in Wien hinterlassen.

Seine lustvolle Rhythmusstudie Dubus wird beim ?10 Jahre VIS?-Programm zu sehen sein, er dreht eine Kurzdoku über das Festival und tritt als Juror beim Musikvideopreis in Erscheinung ? und nicht zuletzt wird der Katzenfreund am 14. Juni einen wesentlichen Teil zum Wiener Cat Video Festival beitragen. Die geladenen Filmschaffenden und Branchen-Gästen wird er zudem an einem Abend gemeinsam mit dem serbischen Journalisten und guten Freund Vladan Petkovic unterhalten - talking nonsense on stage, being rude to strangers, embarrassing themselves in front of the ladies, playing YouTube videos and, of course, drinking excessively (O-Ton Dmitriev).

"Das Paradebeispiel eines sehenswerten ?Found?-Footage-Films ist Dubus von Alexei Dmitriev. Hier tanzen die Puppen aus alten Filmklassikern (Casablanca, Some Like it Hot, Sun Valley Serenade, etc.) in Motion Control zu einer lässig-chilligen Elektrojazz-Nummer von Zelany Rashoho. Der Ton macht die Bewegung ? Vergleiche mit einem Luftgitarren-Act sind dennoch strikt zurückzuweisen. An der akkuraten Remixtechnik hätte Martin Arnold wohl seine helle Freude." (Roman Scheiber, ray, Mai 2007)

Info

Seit 2003 stehen im quartier21/MQ acht Künstlerstudios für internationale KünstlerInnen bzw. Kulturschaffende und KuratorInnen zur Verfügung, die ihren Wohnsitz nicht in Österreich haben. Diese Studios werden in erster Linie projektgebunden an die Kulturanbieter des quartier21/MQ gekoppelt.
 
Ziel des Programmes ist es, vor allem durch die aktive und kontinuierliche Einbeziehung von internationalen Kunst- und Kulturschaffenden die Rolle des MuseumsQuartier Wien als einen der weltgrößten zeitgenössischen Kulturkomplexe mittel- und langfristig auszubauen und den internationalen Kulturaustausch zu fördern.

Mehr Informationen